• The Department of Chemistry started its journey very soon after the inception of DDU Gorakhpur University.
  • It started functioning from April, 1958.
  • Founding members: Prof. R. C. Mehrotra, Prof. K. C. Joshi, Prof. R. P. Rastogi and Prof. S. C. Tripathi.
  • The Department of Chemistry is one of the premier teaching and research department of this University.
  • The quality of research and teaching activities was recognized by UGC as early as 1974 and since then the department has a continued support and special funding by UGC under its various programs such as COSIP, COSIST, DRS and DSA.
  • DST under its FIST program supported the Department for ten years during the period 2004 - 2013.
  • Department was recognised by the UP State Government as a Centre of Excellence in 2011.
  • Department received UGC-SAP grant in 2015 & COE in 2019.
  • UGC SAP List