About Department

Profile of the Department of Political Science

Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gorakhpur University, Gorakhpur


Department of Political Science is one of the oldest departments of the DDU GorakhpurUniversity, Gorakhpur. The department was  established in 1958. The Founder Head of the Dept was Prof Raghuveer Singh, a world renowned Political Scientist and his works on Heraclitus and Locke published in International Journals of Political Science which is the most cited papers by any Indian Political Scientist. Prof Ram Krishna Mani Tripathi was another well known faculty of the Dept. He had specialization over the works of Herbert Marcuse and other socialist thinkers. Prof SPM Tripathi is another distinguished Professor of the Dept, who served the Dept for many years and at present he is serving as the Vice Chancellor of Indira Gandhi National Tribal University, Amarkantak. Prof Rajanikant Pandey is another feather in the cap of the Department. He served as the founder Vice Chancellor of Siddharth University, Kapilvastu.

At present Dept of Political Science have five Professors, one Associate Professor and two Assistant Professors. All of them are well known for their teaching, research and administrative skills. Currently the Head of the Department is Prof Rusiam Mahananda. Faculties of the Dept are also helping university in its various academic and administrative responsibilities. Prof Vineeta Pathak is heading for many years the women NCC wing of the University. She is also President of Athletics Association of the University. Prof Rajanikant Pandey is heading HRDC, Prof Mahananda is holding the Chair of Manyvar Kashi Ram and Dr Mahendra Kumar Singh is Media & Public Relations Officer of the university.

Many renowned personalities have been produced by the Dept.  Shri Mata Prasad Pandey Cabinet Minister in the different UP Govt. and Speaker of the Legislative Assembly is the alumnus of the Dept. Mr Virendra Singh, IPS, Ms Nidhi Mani Tripathi, IAS and many other Civil Servants, who served Central and State Governments, are also alumni of the Dept.

Along with teaching, the Dept has also excelled in high quality research. Many research students have been awarded the JRF/SRF by UGC, ICSSR student research fellowships,  RGNF to SC/ST and differently abled research students.

In the current Academic Session 2021-22, the Dept has conducted One Week Online Course on Research Methodology,  Online Departmental  Alumni Meet and  One Week Online Value-Added Course in Political Science.   The establishment of Election Study Cell is another major achievement of the Dept. The Cell conducted poll survey of the UP Assembly Elections 2022 and its prediction was found accurate. Enthused by the achievements, the Dept is venturing into new fields. A Diploma Course in Political Leadership has already been launched by the Dept. Dept also proposes training programme for the elected members of Panchayat Raj Institutions and setting up of Nepal Studies Centre.  



 Head of the Department                 

Department Profile

Department Info Details

Name of Department Department of Political Science
Head of Department Prof Rusiram Mahananda
Address of Department DDU Gorakhpur University, Gorakhpur
Contact Number 9936921549
Email ID dpsddugu@gmail.com
Social Media Page's Links :
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Department-of-Political-Science-DDUGU-103598485649450
Instagram https://instagram.com/dpsddugu?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=
Youtube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVlWkLElIk6QvLrbX-171PQ
Twitter https://twitter.com/dpsofddugu/status/1521345672481415168?s=21&t=jihMbTJhH0U-HG0aoQYRfw

Scientific Equipments Details

Scientific Equipment Link No Document


Type Number
Class Rooms - ICT 02
Class Rooms - Non-ICT 00
Seminar Rooms Nil
Common Rooms 02
Departmental Libraries Nil
Gents Toilets 02
Ladies Toilets 01
Disabled Person Toilets Nil
Faculty Rooms 06
Office 01
Reception Yes
Waiting Area Yes
Lobby Yes
Ramp 01
Disabled Friendly Yes
Labs Nil

Electrical Appliances

Type Number
Fans 22
LED Lights/Tube lights 30
Air Conditioners 05
Coolers Nil
Room Heaters Nil
Refrigerators 01
Any Other Nil


Type Number
Computers 01
Printers 01
Routers Nil
Network Switches Nil
Servers Nil

Additional Information

5 Years Master Plan No Document
Annual Department Plan No Document
Teaching Plan No Document
Student Attendance Yes

Time Table

UG View Document
PG View Document
Slow Learners View Document
Fast Learners
Room No. with Details No Document
Co-curricular Activity No Document
List of Alumni No Document
Innovation Practices No Document
Stock Register Yes
Internal Evaluation Records Yes
Special Provision made for Advanced & Slow/Fast Learners Yes

Visiting Guest Faculty

No. of Guest Lectures Yes
List of Guest Faculty No Document
Consultancy Services No Document
Community Extension Programs No Document
Learning Resources Available in the Department No Document
Achievements and Rewards No Document
Academic Audit https://api.ddunaac.com/api/Containers/department/download/7b5a67da-605e-4858-af21-028d285ebe4a.docx
List of Fast Learners
List of Slow Learners No Document
E-Content No Document
Any Other 0

Program Details

Number of Programs https://api.ddunaac.com/api/Containers/department/download/1546a562-d303-4279-b05d-1b490570b1e5.docx
Number of Courses View Document
Papers Taught View Document
Value Added Courses No Document
Students enrolled in Each Value-Added Course No Document
No. of Publications -36--
No. of Books Published --08-
No. of Chapters Published --28-

Student Information

Type No. of Student
Under Graduate (UG) 1800
Post Graduate (PG) 300
Ph.D. Scholars 98
From Within State 1895
From Outside State 3
International slow learners (Only UG): ---
International fast learners (Only UG): ---

Other Information

Strengths Well Experienced Teaching Staff
Weaknesses Students of the department having poor background
Opportunities Opportunity to work in a comparatively backward region
Challenges High Teacher-Student ratio


Sr. No.
Teacher Name
Mobile No.
1Prof. Gopal PrasadProfessor8004918799View
2Prof. Rajesh Kumar SinghProfessor9336414240View
3Prof. Rajani Kant PandeyProfessor9415245177View
4Prof. Vineeta PathakProfessor9415313045View
5Prof. Rusiram MahanandaProfessor and Head9936921549View
6Dr Mahendra Kumar SinghAsst. Professor9868866906View
7Amit Kumar UpadhyayAsst. Professor9653007068View

Courses & Syllabi

 Sr. No. Course Syllabus CBCS
1Syllabus of Political Science for RET Entrance 20 20-2021View/Download --

Research & Publications

Research Projects (Last 5 Years)

Project Title
Funding Agency
State/Central Govt.
Data to be Uploaded

Research Papers


  • Data to be Uploaded

Retired Faculties

Sr. No.
Teacher Name
Mobile No.
1Prof. Shriprakash Mani TripathiProfessor9451514015View

Time Table

 Sr. No.  Semester Under Graduate Post Graduate Other