Physics is a well-established and exciting discipline that continuously propels new advances in science and technology. Discoveries and interpretations of basic concepts in Physics have led to advances in technology and sometimes to the emergence of new subjects. The relevance of Physics is now recognised in diverse fields including medicine, materials, communication etc. Besides applications it also helps on one hand in the understanding of the micro-world of elementary particles and on the other hand in explorations into deep ocean as well as space and large-scale structure of the universe.

The Department of Physics at D.D.U. Gorakhpur University was started in 1958 under the visionary leadership of Prof. Devendra Sharma, a renowned spectroscopist of his time. He encouraged growth of the department in several fields till he was called upon to take up the charge of the Vice-Chancellor of the University in 1973. The headship of the department was then taken up by Prof. Nitish K. Sanyal and later by Prof. Radhey Mohan Misra, who continued the tradition of the department towards academic achievement through teaching and research. The department offers quality education at undergraduate (B.Sc.) and postgraduate (M.Sc.) levels. The faculty members are well known and recognized for their research contributions in various fields. The emphasis on teaching is among the hallmarks of the department. The undergraduate and postgraduate laboratories are well equipped and aim at giving the students hands on experience to develop their faculties of observations and measurements.

M.Sc. Physics is a four-semester course. To familiarize the students with modern research areas, in the 3rd and 4th semester, specializations are offered in Astrophysics, Biophysics, Electronics, Solid-State Physics, Spectroscopy and Lasers. It is noteworthy that Astrophysics and Biophysics specializations at M.Sc. level are offered at very few universities in India. These specializations have gained importance today but were started in this department in the late nineteen sixties. The department has been recognized under DST-FIST program by Government of India. The students of the department frequently qualify national level tests and get selected for higher studies in the top institutes of India, e.g., IISc, TIFR, IITs, IISERs, etc. The alumni of the department are highly placed in both academic and administrative fields. Several research projects undertaken by the faculty members in recent years are in the areas of Materials Science, Biophysics and Astrophysics. Among the ongoing projects ISRO project on aerosol monitoring is adding new dimensions to the department’s research activities. The department has collaborations with several national institutes and has signed a memorandum of understanding with ARIES, Nainital since 2009.

Thrust areas of research of the Department are:

1: Astrophysics

2: Atmospheric Physics

3: Biophysics

4: Experimental Condensed Matter Physics

5: Computational Materials Science

6: Electronics

7: Liquid Crystals

Under Maintanance

Sr. No.
Teacher Name
Mobile No.
1Prof. Sugriva Nath TiwariProfessor9450884082View
2Prof. Shantanu RastogiProfessor and Head9335631805View
3Prof. Lallan YadavProfessor9450253084, 9511487608View
4Prof. Ravi Shankar SinghProfessor7607644633View
5Dr. Umesh YadavaProfessor9415853376View
6Dr. Rakesh Kumar TiwariAssociate Professor9838221899View
7Dr. Ambrish Kumar SrivastavaAsst. Professor9415620016View
8Dr. Prashant ShahiAsst. Professor9453305264View
9Dr. Vineet Kumar SinghAsst. Professor8762732944View
10Dr. Manindra KumarAsst. Professor9451929427View
11Dr. Amit Kumar Singh ChauhanAsst. Professor0000View
12Dr. Prabhunath PrasadAsst. Professor9473833720View
13Dr. Madan Singh ChauhanAsst. Professor8954238053View
14Dr. Manoj Kumar DwivediAsst. Professor9453151705View
15Dr. Deepash Shekhar SainiAsst. Professor8927165315View
16Dr. Udai Bhan SinghAsst. Professor8586867589View
17Dr. Dipendra SharmaAsst. Professor9455670932View
18Dr. Apara TripathiAsst. Professor9450765530,9839702555View
19Dr. Rajan WaliaAsst. Professor63884753300View
20Dr. Sintu KumarAsst. Professor9911607531View
21Dr. Kripa Mani MishraAsst. Professor9415481265View
22Dr. Nikhil KumarAsst. Professor8369608918View
 Sr. No. Course Syllabus CBCS
1Physics Syllabus UGView/DownloadView/Download
2Physics Syllabus PG (Semester System)View/DownloadView/Download

Research Projects (Last 5 Years)

Project Title
Funding Agency
State/Central Govt.
1Aerosol Radiative Forcing over India (ARFI) Prof. Shantanu RastogiISRO PhysicsCentral Government 1020158 Years
2Study on possible remote sensing of methane on Mars using data products of Methane Sensor for Mars (MSM)Prof. Shantanu RastogiISRO, BangaluruPhysicsCentral Government 7.2620178 Years
3Synthesis, X-ray Crystallographic and computational studies on some pyrazelo[3, 4-d] pyrimidinesProf. Umesh YadavDST, New DelhiPhysicsGovernment 21.820155 Years
4Conformational Studies of Modified RNA Triplexes Prof. Rakesh Kumar TiwariUGC, New DelhiPhysicsGovernment 620152 Years
5Superatoms as Building Blocks of Novel Materials for Various Applications: A Computational ApproachDr. Ambrish Kumar SrivastavaUGC, New DelhiPhysicsGovernment 1020193 Years
6ISRO MoMAODr. Shantanu RastogiISROPhysicsCentral Government 020163
7ISRO ARFIDr. Shantanu RastogiISROPhysicsCentral Government 1020128
8DST INSPIRE Faculty AwardDr. Nikhil KumarDSTPhysicsCentral Government 720185
  • There are several projects that have been sanctioned by various reputed agencies to the faculty members that enormously add to the academic stature of the Department. Two ISRO projects (PI: Prof. Shantanu Rastogi), two DST projects (PIs: Dr. Nikhil Kumar and Dr. Prashant Shahi), three UGC projects (PIs: Dr. Ambrish Kumar Srivastava, Dr. Udai Bhan Singh and Dr. Vineet Kumar Singh) are running in the Department and the total sanctioned amount is approximately Rs. 1 crore.
  • Prof. Shantanu Rastogi has been appointed the Vice President of the Astronomical Society of India
  • Prof. Umesh Yadava received International Travel Award from CSIR, New Delhi.
  • One of the papers by Dr. Ambrish Kumar Srivastava has been selected for the cover page of the International Journal of Quantum Chemistry published by Wiley, USA.
  • A National Symposium on Advanced Materials Science (December 7-8, 2018; Convener: Prof. S. N. Tiwari, Organizing Secretary: Prof. Umesh Yadava) was organized by the Department.
  • BARC Outreach Program was also organized on January 16, 2019, for students regarding career opportunities available in Bhabha Atomic Research Center (BARC), Mumbai.
  • IUAC Acquaintance Program was organized on September 20, 2019 to acquaint the faculties and researchers with the research facilities available in Inter-University Accelerator Center (IUAC), New Delhi.