

Prof. Rajesh Singh
Hon'ble Vice-Chancellor



Alumni Meet-2021

Department of Economics,



Dr.J.P.ShuklaAlumni
First Batch:1959



Guest of Honour
Prof. A.K.Srivastava
Alumni
Batch:1970



DDU Gorakhpur University, Gorakhpur U.P INDIA

Theme: Role of Alumni in Campus Development

Google Meet Link: https://meet.google.com/bvx-rkrm-kbw Registration Link: https://ddugu.ac.in/Alumni New R.aspx



About the University: DDU Gorakhpur University was established in June 1956. It has since made phenomenal progress in all academic spheres. Within a span of 65 years of its existence, it has grown into a centre of academic excellence contributing significantly to the development of youth in particular and society at large in the most densely populated and agrarian-based region of eastern Uttar Pradesh of India. There are 29 distinguish departments of university. The famous *Gorakh Nath-Temple*, *Buddha-Temples* are situated in the neighbourhood of Gorakhpur.

About the Department: The Department of Economics came into existence with the establishment of Gorakhpur University (1958). Prof. Ram Pratap Bahadur from Allahabad was the first Head of the department. In the beginning, eminent scholars and academicians, like Prof. Vinod Dubey and Prof. T.S. Papola had enriched the department and graced it. After serving in the department, Prof. Vinod Dubey went to NCAER, New Delhi and thereafter, he was appointed as economist in the World Bank. Staying in the department for a short period of time, Prof T.S. Papola became Professor in Bombay University. Later on, he became Director of Giri Institute of Development Studies, Lucknow and then was appointed advisor in the Planning Commission. Sri J.N. Pandey worked as an economist in ESCAP at Bangkok and then till his retirement served the department. Prof. Brij Kishore Singh, Prof. Shiv Shankar Mishra, Prof. Sitaram Gupta Prof. Ashok Kumar Srivastava, Prof. Prakash Chandra Shukla, Prof. Sandeep Kumar and Prof. Karunakar Ram Tripathi have glorified the post of Head of Department. Presently Prof. Alok Kumar Goyal is Head of the Department. At present, there are 7 faculty members in department. The department is equipped with 2-ICTs Class-Rooms, Library cum Reading Room & Girls Common Room.

Organizing Committee



Prof. A.K. Tiwari
Dean, Faculty of Commerce



Prof. Alok Kumar Goyal Head



Prof. Sandeep Kumar Ex-Head



Prof. K.R.Tripathi Ex-Head



Dr. Raju Kumar Gupta Convener



Dr. S.C. Srivastava Member



Dr. A.K.Sharma Member



Dr. Surendra Kumar Gupta Member